Paint Basket Member Art Forum

Author Topic: What NOT to do as a professional artist when selling DVDs  (Read 3306 times)

Vangie

  • Paint
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Hello from Melbourne, Australia
All the laughter I had when reading the comments in the "I hate Paintbasket" thread has been dampened when I received a couple of DVDs (a single re painting face features, and a double on portrait demo) in the mail just now.  I'm sharing my experience with you, not to dampen your day, but to learn from it.

The main reason I choose to buy DVDs (even if they cost a bit more), rather than online download, is that I expect the DVDs to be of a professional quality and nicely packaged/labelled.  Also, if I downloaded and cut my own DVDs, the copies get easily lost amongst all my copied DVDs/CDs.

Well, I was indeed very disappointed, to say the least, to receive unprofessionally packaged DVDs, and obviously home-made ... They came in 2 CD-size holders... that would have been fine, except that the front paper cover was a bit wonky; inside the front cover had dirty paste marks where a label was obviously hastily stuck; the back paper cover was stuck outside (!!!) the plastic container (and wonky/wavy as well), and the CDs ( ? ? ? well!!!): one had no label whatsoever (just plain blank white); the double DVDs had a hand-written label on each "Disk (erasure mark) 1." and "Disk (erasure mark) 2."... obviously some mistakes were made with labelling!!!  They're definitely not worth the US$70 + postage I paid... I could have done a much better job!!!  Really, really :tickedoff: !!!    >:(   :cursing:   :knuppel2:  :fight:  :twoguns:  :nunchucks:  :pullhair:  (Sorry, I'm just exaggerating my feelings by showing these emoticons, just to emphasise the point.)

All these put me off watching these particular DVDs, making me suspect that the quality of the DVDs would not be at all good!!! Such carelessness and maybe thriftiness does not do any good to the reputation of the artist, in my opinion, no matter how good the artist is with his/her art work.

I wish I could post some photos, but I don't want to publish the name of this female artist.  I went back to her website to find out more info, and lo & behold I get a message "Sorry, we can't find "fineartportraitsby(her 1st name).com". Please check the spelling of the web address."  Tried it a few times and got the same message each time. (???)   :o   :confused:   :think:   :(

« Last Edit: February 16, 2012, 11:34:45 PM by Vangie »


Vangie

  • Paint
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Hello from Melbourne, Australia
Reply #1 on: February 16, 2012, 05:54:58 PM
Her website is finally working... I managed to access... I'll see if she has a private comments/feedback section... I might just email her just to let her know politely ... it's such a pity that I had that experience because obviously she's such a good portrait artist...


Leana

  • Easel
  • *
  • Posts: 1391
  • By painting daily, you grow daily
Reply #2 on: February 17, 2012, 01:22:06 AM
 :eek: Oh Vangie... what a terrible experience  :crazy2: .  Truly  :pullhair:  I am glad you were able to get access to her website.  Letting her know about your feelings will be great... Being Artists, we are business people too... we need all the feedback >positive and negatives... so that improvements can be made when there are negative feedback.  Let us know on your progress and feedback you get.  Now take a breather, sit back have a  :coffee: and here is a  :1hug: for ya.
Leana

"Good art is a form of Prayer.  It's a way to say what is not sayable." ~ Frederich Busch

"Art is not just ornamental, an enhancement of life, but a path in itself, a way out of the predictable and conventional, a map to selfdiscovery." ~ Gabrielle Roth


nolan

  • Administrator
  • Master Artist
  • *
  • Posts: 11220
    • Draw With Nolan
Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 12:35:02 PM
the guys don't always realise that it is better to pay more and put out a decent product than to go cheap because you lose follow on sales by doing that because you won't buy from her again - and you will now go tell all your friends so they aren't caught. For the same reason it is best to use top quality supplies with your paintings for sale as well O0


valweb

  • Paint Brush
  • *
  • Posts: 803
Reply #4 on: February 18, 2012, 02:35:01 AM
 :2funny:  :2funny:   :2funny: at first I thought you were talking about PB dvd's and couldn't believe what I was reading.....must be something about being blonde.    :2funny: :2funny:  Stick to PAINT BASKET and you won't be disappointed.
Choose to make every day a good day


Vangie

  • Paint
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Hello from Melbourne, Australia
Reply #5 on: February 18, 2012, 03:16:17 AM
Hahaha!!!  :2funny:  You're funny, valweb.

Oh not at all!!! All the DVDs I got from PB are perfect!!!  If they weren't I wouldn't be so rude as to publish it here... I would have written to Nolan & Dennis via a private email.  Again rest assured, I am very happy with the quality of all the PB DVDs I bought, and would recommend them to anybody.  O0


Vangie

  • Paint
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Hello from Melbourne, Australia
Reply #6 on: February 18, 2012, 04:09:08 AM
Nolan,  :thankyou:  for your advice... very much appreciated... :twothumbs:

Here's an update, Leana...  8)  :coffee:

Bottom line:  I'm likely to get better quality DVDs eventually.
Lesson learnt:  I learnt a valuable lesson about 'what not to do'/'what to do' from this experience, hence I thought I'd share it with you all so that we'd all learn from it. 
Hence, please don't think that my purpose in sharing my experience is to give that artist a bad reputation ... otherwise, I would have published negative comments directly on her YouTube video ads.  I did and still do respect her fantastic artistic talent, honestly.  I just hope that I didn't make anyone of you (like valweb  :2funny:) uncomfortable with my "whinging".  I did feel a bit better 'though after adding all those exaggerated, angry emoticons. hahaha!!!

I did send a private online message to her, and received 2 email responses, as follows:

Quote
" Receipt for your eMail
Sent: Fri 17/02/2012 1:16 PM
Hi! We have received this email, where your email was indicated as sender email:

     Hi ______ (I omitted artist's name).
     I received your DVDs today, thank you.
     I just want to let you know that I love your artwork and you are obviously a fantastic portrait painter, hence I bought your DVDs... However, I am very disappointed with the unprofessional 'home-made' quality of your DVD packaging, which almost puts me off watching the DVDs. I just hope that when I eventually watch them, that I won't get as disappointed.
     The reason that I'm giving you my feedback is for you to know how important it is to ensure that all your products are a reflection of you as a professional, amazingly talented artist... a bit of carelessness does not do your reputation justice.
     Sorry for this negative feedback.  I hope you take it as a constructive criticism, and let whoever prepared the DVDs for you to know about it.
     God bless.


Thank you! We will return to you soonest possible.
________________________

Sent: Sat 18/02/2012 4:32 AM
Dear Evangeline!
I was expecting this kind of feed back because of this last DVDs (10 of them...) I was OUT of stock, and then the people who is doing that for me said : this DVDs disks are discontinued, and we can send you just white "face" and you have to write with your sharpie pen on it!!..) I was disappointed too!!!But had no choice just send what I have to. Because I was already late with mailing them!
Now they found another company who prodice the same DVD disk we have been using, thanks God! And the "face" is printable with my name and discription.
Anyway, long before when I was just painting and had nothing to do with DVDs, I was asked by many-many artists to put together the DVDs , and I did: my DVD is very detailed about the palette, and almost all aspects I can put there to make it inderstandable.
No, DVD is not made by professional, (its very expensive..$5000.00 just to make one original master copy!) Thats why those DVD who made by professionals cost $200.00 each and more, and not that what I am charging! I wanted so much to help my peers artists and made my DVDs pretty good and affordable for everyone! Believe me I am selling the DVDs all over the world every day, thats why I am often out of stock.
So, I m sad what you said, but I agree and as I said I was expecting that from some people!, because I did not like them myself, but what I am going to do, when my new DVDs arrive I would send it to you!
Sorry for your disappontment!


I have yet to respond... I don't know what to say at this stage...

I hope everybody's having a great weekend.  Cheers!
   :hug:  :peace: :dance:


Lillian

  • Master Artist
  • *
  • Posts: 5275
Reply #7 on: February 18, 2012, 05:31:02 AM
Vangie,

That was a very nice, tactful note you sent to the artist regarding the poor quality DVD's.  You did her a favour.

I hope she honors her word and sends you a set that she can be proud of.

"The way to be happy," said Winston Churchill, "is to find something that requires the kind of perfection that's impossible to achieve and spend the rest of your life trying to achieve it."


Leana

  • Easel
  • *
  • Posts: 1391
  • By painting daily, you grow daily
Reply #8 on: February 18, 2012, 11:16:26 AM
Vangie,  :thankyou: for the feedback.  I agree with Lillian...your mail was very tactful... and I hope she truly takes the good advice to heart... it will just benefit her in the end too.

 O0
Leana

"Good art is a form of Prayer.  It's a way to say what is not sayable." ~ Frederich Busch

"Art is not just ornamental, an enhancement of life, but a path in itself, a way out of the predictable and conventional, a map to selfdiscovery." ~ Gabrielle Roth


nolan

  • Administrator
  • Master Artist
  • *
  • Posts: 11220
    • Draw With Nolan
Reply #9 on: February 20, 2012, 01:18:27 PM
it's good to complain like this, we always encourage people to complain when they are unhappy, otherwise we never know what we are doing wrong. This artist should at least have included a letter explaining with the dvd so that you knew you were only getting a temp dvd until the new stock arrives instead of just sending them out and hoping that everybody will be happy with what they get.


dennis

  • Administrator
  • Master Artist
  • *
  • Posts: 7105
Reply #10 on: February 20, 2012, 02:14:47 PM
It all boils down to correct customer service. A happy customer is a returning customer :)
You are what you THINK about - Napoleon Hill


Val

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Artist
  • *****
  • Posts: 19481
  • SMILE, It's a brand new day!
Reply #11 on: March 02, 2012, 12:51:09 PM
 :twothumbs:
Cheers, Val

”Creativity is allowing yourselves to make mistakes. Work on knowing which ones to keep!”

- Alvaro Castagnet


Vangie

  • Paint
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Hello from Melbourne, Australia
Reply #12 on: April 26, 2012, 05:53:48 PM
Hello PB family,
Just a quick HELLO to Everyone  :hug:

and a quick update:  I did receive the replacement DVDs about 2 weeks ago :clap:  ... but I've yet to watch them...

Cheers to all for now.  Happy  :painting:   :coffee:   :hug:


Lillian

  • Master Artist
  • *
  • Posts: 5275
Reply #13 on: April 26, 2012, 05:57:42 PM
 :wave: Vangie!  Nice to see you here!

I hope your studies are going well.

Come back when you can.

I'm glad you finally got your replacement DVds.  It paid to let your voice be heard.  The squeeky wheel gets the grease so to speak.   :)  You were so discrete with your complaint.  I'm proud of you girl!
"The way to be happy," said Winston Churchill, "is to find something that requires the kind of perfection that's impossible to achieve and spend the rest of your life trying to achieve it."


Vangie

  • Paint
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Hello from Melbourne, Australia
Reply #14 on: April 26, 2012, 06:16:32 PM
Hi Lillian
It's good to hear from you!!!  I've really missed PB & family.

I just quickly logged in basically to check if there are new webinars that I haven't booked yet... Whilst I can't attend them live, I want to make sure that I'm booked so that I can access them whenever.

Studying full time is really tough... I think I'm suffering from dementia (could be old age - hahaha)... I'm just finding it hard to retain info overload.  Anyway, I just have to try to do my best... I always try to remember an advice given to me by one of my lecturers "Don't be such a perfectionist... you don't need to aim for HD (High Distinction) or D (distinction)... all you need is a Pass to complete the course..."  Easier said than done, but I'm trying. I really need to complete my MBIS this final semester, for personal satisfaction that I've reached another milestone... but more importantly, I can then spend more time on painting afterwards, without feeling the guilt and regret that I should have got my MBIS out of the way first.

Cheers for now.   :hug: xoxoxo to eveyone!!!


 

SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal